Direct Energy plans and rates in Alberta, as published a month ago

4 plans, as published on October 9, 2026

Prices from 9 October 2026, 22 days ago. We publish this list at least 30 days late, on purpose. Retailers change their prices often, so some of these have likely changed.

Check my bills, free during our launch

Who Direct Energy is

Direct Energy is a competitive retailer offering electricity and natural gas services for residential, small business, and farm consumers across Alberta.

Source: Utilities Consumer Advocate, read October 30, 2026

Direct Energy Regulated Services is a regulated retailer. Direct Energy is a competitive retailer.

The default rate where Direct Energy Regulated Services supplies it

12.02¢ per kWh (1 January 2025 to 31 December 2026) [source]

The default electricity retailer in the ATCO Electric area is Direct Energy Regulated Services. It is also the default natural gas retailer for ATCO Gas.

Energy charge only; delivery and administration charges are extra.

Set by the regulator; a competitive plan is priced by the retailer.

natural gas, ATCO Gas North and South: C$1.458 per GJ (1 October 2026 to 31 October 2026) [source]

Sources: Alberta Utilities Commission: Alberta Utilities Commission, Current gas costs: monthly default supply provider gas rates (Direct Energy Regulated Services - North and South); Utilities Consumer Advocate: Default rates; Alberta Utilities Commission: Decision 29204-D02-2025

  • Price on Oct 9

    2-year fixed rate

    Rate: 7.99 ¢/kWh

    Term: 24 months. Type: Fixed rate.

    Fee: not stated

  • Price on Oct 9

    3-year fixed rate

    Rate: 9.49 ¢/kWh

    Term: 36 months. Type: Fixed rate.

    Fee: not stated

  • Price on Oct 9

    2-year fixed rate

    Rate: 4.29 $/GJ

    Term: 24 months. Type: Fixed rate.

    Fee: not stated

  • Price on Oct 9

    3-year fixed rate

    Rate: 4.29 $/GJ

    Term: 36 months. Type: Fixed rate.

    Fee: not stated

Names and logos belong to their owners. BillRobin is independent and is not part of, endorsed by or paid by any retailer.

Plans are listed electricity first, then gas, shortest fixed term first. They are never listed by price.